How to block phone contacts on Tinder to avoid exes

(Pocket-lint) – Tinder makes it easier for you to block an ex or avoid friends, relatives, co-workers and others you don’t want to see on the dating app.

Tinder users have long wanted to be able to use the app without having to face someone they just don’t want to see for some reason. Now they finally get that wish. The company announced that it will now allow users to block phone contacts as a preventive measure.

“Want to try to avoid seeing someone on Tinder? With Block Contacts, you can do that,” Tinder announced via its online help center. “Share your device’s contact list with Tinder, select a contact you want to block and we’ll do our best to prevent you from seeing yourself.”

tinder

How to block phone contacts on Tinder

To block specific phone contacts, you have two options available. See below for details on how to block contacts using either method.


What is Yubo and how can I join him?

Share contacts with Tinder to block them

You can directly share your mobile device’s contact list on Tinder, then just select the contacts you want to block.

  1. Open the Tinder app
  2. Tap the profile icon
  3. Go to settings “
  4. Scroll down and select “Block contacts”
  5. Give Tinder permission to access your contacts
  6. Under the “Contacts” tab, select the people you want to avoid from your contacts
  7. Tap “Block contacts”

Manually add contacts to Tinder to block them

If you prefer not to share your contacts with Tinder, or if you want to block someone who is not in your contact list, you can manually add the contact information.

  1. Open the Tinder app
  2. Tap the profile icon
  3. Go to settings “
  4. Scroll down and select “Block contacts”
  5. Tap the + icon at the top of the screen
  6. Enter the contact details of this person
  7. Tap “Done”

To note: Tinder said it won’t store everyone’s contacts – only the ones you’ve chosen to block. Blocked contacts will also not be notified that they have been blocked. And if a blocked person later changes their phone number and joins Tinder, their Tinder account may still appear for you.

How to unblock contacts on Tinder

If you change your mind later and want to unblock someone, it’s easy.

  1. Open the Tinder app
  2. Tap the profile icon
  3. Go to settings “
  4. Scroll down and select “Block contacts”
  5. Go to the “Blocked” tab
  6. Tap “Unblock” next to each blocked contact you want to unblock,
    • Or tap the menu icon in the corner and select “Unblock All”

Want to know more?

Check out our In-depth guide to Tinder to learn more about the dating app. We also have a comparison of alternative dating apps worth trying.

Written by Maggie Tillman.


Source link

About Madeline Powers

Avatar

Check Also

Customize Quick Reply Messages for Declining Calls in the Google Phone App – Gadgets to Use

Google Phone is a default phone app for the Pixel smartphone and also for Android …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *